The Music – Meet Erik Raymond

Posted: February 24, 2010 in News
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Music is what feelings sound like – Unknown

Music has always been a very important part of my life and as a choreographer even more so. Kinetic Elements has aligned their newest and latest work with musician Erik Raymond. The music is what is helping create the company, the feel and the style.

Erik Raymond

Erik Raymond is a Montreal born musician raised and residing in Burlington, He writes, produces and engineers music. Some of you might remember him as the DJ/Synth player from 30odd08, Erik is currently working on 4 other projects as well, Hiigarrah, Non-Zero, Ebony & Lolindir and also he does music under his own name as a solo artist.  In addition to music projects, Erik manages a video and music production company called Midnight Fabrications. The work includes two movies, produced three full albums as well as produced a third party group’s album.  Hiigarrah’s album entitled Lucidity Versus Obscurity was released thought Midnight Fabrications and the label is going to release more albums in the future. 

Q&A 

The first song that I used for my choreography was Pandora`s Box for my piece called Antevasin. Erik tell us a little bit about where the inspiration came from for this song:

This song pretty much represented a turning point in Non-Zero’s sound and
direction.  After completing the final tracks on the first album “Second Gen.
Organic” I still had a burning desire to add more tracks to the record, but it
was time to close the book on that album.  However, Pandora’s box was a track I
had written during the Second Gen record with a group of songs done with some
new equipment.  Even though the record was done I had a million ideas flowing
out of me with the lack of restrictions my gear was providing.  Pandora’s Box
was written, engineered and finalized in 4 hours one winter morning.  I knew the
song didn’t belong on the first record for two reasons, 1. the album was full,
complete and complimentary on its own and 2. Pandora’s box sounded so different
from the rest of the record that it pretty much started a new chapter in Non-
Zero’s story.  Since the song was indeed different I named it as such, it was
like a doorway had open to a new world or a box had opened with an alien like
sensation pouring out.  To me the song meant things were different and never
going to be the same in a new and exciting way.

The newest piece Kinetic Elements uses has a totally different feel to it, could you give us an inside look at Mode III?

More or less Mode 3 was one of the first songs I wrote at the beginning of the
30odd08 project.  The Day I wrote it I was in the studio and had just finished
a 10 hour stretch on 30odd08’s first album recording efforts and I had some
spare time in the outer sound room with my rig.  I was still in a creative mind
frame as I was all day from the other record, and I didn’t want to stop, so I
went to work on my own.  Within one hour I had nearly completed the track

Let`s hear a little more about you:

Who is your biggest inspiration?

Bill Leeb and Ryhs Fulber of Delerium and Front Line Assembly as well as Fredrick Thordendale of Meshuggah and Special Defects, taught me a lot about breaking away from the cookie cutter music that seems to be everywhere

When did you start making music? 

When I was ten my parents gave me a small keyboard for X-mas, made a few licks of my own right there but when I turned 14 I was introduced to Drumming and computer tracked music, I wrote over 100 songs on my PC at home that year

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? 

The world, humanity, compassion, beauty, a women’s eyes, mountains, valleys, plains, there’s a lot in this world to behold and enjoy and come to love

What turns you off?

Nothing on this planet is worse that blatant ignorance

Future Aspiration? 

To have recorded 8 full length albums, to have built my own rat rod (oldschool hotrod 100% fabricated) and have a family of my own in a house on a hillside

Meet Erik at our Launch Party this Saturday: 805 Dovercourt Rd, 3rd Floor.  Only $10 admission!

Also, you can visit him here

Leave a Reply

