A View From The Inside

This article is written by Kinetic Elements’ member Ashima Suri.

I took a deep breath and worked my way into the studio for the audition.  I remember feeling intensely hot and I could feel my heartbeat faster.  And I hadn’t even started to dance yet!

It was July 2009 – a hot summer day and a moment I was waiting for.  The Kinetic Elements (KE) audition!  I remember seeing Choreographer of Kinetic Elements, Kendra Hughes, in pictures and videos on Facebook and thinking, I want to learn from her one day.  The week of the KE audition I took classes every day – doing whatever I could to mentally and physically prepare myself for the big day!

I’m not sure how I did on the day of the audition but I do remember leaving feeling great.  I was part of Kinetic Elements group! And little did I know at that time – that this was just the beginning of an amazing journey!

Fast forward to almost a year later and the journey has indeed been a surreal one.  I’ll be the first to admit that the journey wasn’t always a smooth one.  There were definitely some bumps along the way, but it is overcoming those bumps and moving forward that makes a person grow, develop and become stronger.

And now the big day is approaching! Kinetic Elements is performing at the 2010 Toronto Fringe Festival! About 6 months ago, as I stood outside waiting for a streetcar, I received a call from Kendra with the news that we will be in the Fringe! The excitement was contagious and for the rest of the evening I couldn’t stop smiling.

And today, I’m along side some of the most fantastic dancers and in awe of their strength as performers.  I’m learning from an amazing choreographer whom I have learned so much from this past year.  It has all been one big blessing and I’m eternally grateful.

And as I think back to where we started, I slowly begin to unravel the reality of where we are heading and I can’t help but to keep on smiling.  Smiling all the way to the Bathurst Theatre for the 2010 Fringe Festival with the Kinetic Elements crew.  July 2nd will be a great day! J

Comments
  1. shawnbyfield says:

    Congratulations! It’s amazing what can happen in a year with focus and determination isn’t it? Wishing you more adventures in the coming year.

    – SB

    • Kendra says:

      Thanks Shawn for stopping by and checking out our website! This year has been an amazing journey. I can’t wait to see what the future holds!

Leave a Reply

