Venus “the Morning Star or the Evening Star”
Goddess associated with love, beauty and fertility

I first choreographed a piece for The Bazaar -Latin Fever called Heartbeat in February earlier this year and it was a piece about relationships. About how sometimes we stay in a relationships that are not good for us. How we can blind ourselves to the reality of a situation and what is really going on around us.

Daniel, Ashley and I all collaborated on this quite extensively since this was my first duet and I was diving into a dance world that was unknown to me (the tango). Daniel and I met with Michelle Mitchell of Rhythm Dynamix Dance in Oshawa and then we went back to the studio in Toronto to create our first version of Heartbeat.

Later I adapted Heartbeat to become the Venus section of our first full length production Eternal Eclipse. I really wanted to put a twist on the idea of the goddess of love. So we went back into the studio and I wanted to make it a little more darker, to flush out some more of the ideas I had for the dance. The dancers worked fabulously on this and I am very happy with this piece reworked.

Here is the final piece:

Leave a Reply

